RSS

My perfect scrambled eggs!

06 Apr

I have never been a fan of scrambled eggs. Their consistency and texture just didn’t feel right, all rubbery and lumpy. I’ll still eat them because I know the health benefits of eggs, but I don’t enjoy them. I do remember liking my mother’s scrambled eggs – probably because she cooked them in leftover bacon fat. She always had a small container of bacon fat in the refrigerator ready to slather into a fry pan for whatever needed frying. Those days are long gone in my house, in favor of healthier oils. But they sure tasted good – salty and dripping with grease…

Never mind the bacon fat… I have finally learned how to cook my perfect scrambled eggs. It’s all thanks to the April 2012 issue of “Bon Appetit” magazine. They have a great article on how to cook eggs many different ways – poaching, scrambling, making a souffle’, making carbonara or aioli sauce, and making flan. Even this old dog can learn some new tricks!

For my perfect scrambled eggs, there is no recipe. It’s the technique that’s most important – cooking slowly over low heat and stirring constantly. I made them two days in a row for breakfast using two different types of pans, just to be certain I could duplicate them. (That’s the scientist in me!) They came out creamy and rich each time!

I started by breaking two eggs into a small mixing bowl. I added a small amount of water – about 1 tablespoon – and using my whisk, I beat the eggs very well. I like my eggs simple so I added a dash of salt and pepper, but any spice could be added at this point. Whisk in the spices, too. I set the heat under my fry pan to medium low and added 1 tablespoon butter. Once the butter melted, I added the eggs. This part is critical – the eggs must be continually stirred/whisked while cooking, scraping the bottom and sides of the pan, until the eggs are just beginning to thicken. Turn the heat down if they start sticking to the pan. Keep stirring, but don’t let them dry out. Total cooking time is about 4 to 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat and serve. Yum!!

The article mentions the reason for the constant stirring and whisking is to keep the eggs from forming large curds. It aerates them so they will cook evenly and be fluffy.

Enjoy and happy cooking!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

