RSS

Crust-less Pumpkin Pie…Really?

04 Nov
Pumpkin

I had lunch today with a very good friend who is always upbeat and positive. She really “shines” with her joy and attitude about life. She has recently started a blog and happily suggested I should try it too. “Do it for the joy of it!”, she says. So, that’s what I’ve decided to do. I want to share my passion about cooking. Not just any kind of cooking (although I do enjoy all kinds), but specifically gluten-free cooking.

I started several years ago when another very good friend was diagnosed with Celiac disease. I tried to find recipes she liked and convert them into gluten-free. Over the years, I’ve converted many recipes into gluten-free, found new tasty products and experimented with what works well and what doesn’t. It was a good thing I did because, just recently, my husband has discovered he is sensitive to gluten and has decided to be more strict with his eating habits.

I like to keep things simple in the kitchen, so hopefully you’ll find my recipes easy to follow and delicious as well. I love to cook and I love to try new recipes. Cooking is an adventure, so let’s have some fun!

Most of my recipes use a wheat-free/gluten-free baking and pancake mix made by Pamela’s Products. It is so easy to use and tastes great! I buy it in 4 pound (1.81 kg) bags from Amazon, but you can also buy it directly from Pamela’s website (http://www.pamelasproducts.com) or a local grocery store may carry it.

It’s hard to find a good pie crust that is gluten-free, so in this recipe I’ve tried to get that same great taste of pumpkin pie without a “normal” crust. I also cut out the sugar and used agave syrup, which is a healthier sweetener. My husband and I thought it came out great and I will definitely be making this one for Thanksgiving dinner!!

CRUST-LESS PUMPKIN PIE

1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin puree

½ cup agave syrup

2 eggs

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

3/4 cup evaporated milk

1/3 cup Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix until thoroughly blended. Grease a pie plate with butter and pour pumpkin mixture into pie plate. Bake for 60-65 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Serve warm with whipped cream or refrigerate for later. Makes 6-8 servings.

Yum!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Crust-less Pumpkin Pie…Really?

  1. nanettefayephotography

    November 4, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Awesome post!! Perfect recipe for Thanksgiving!!

     
  2. Gluten-free Medley

    November 6, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Thank you! I plan on sharing more Thanksgiving recipes, so stay tuned. If anyone would like the wheat version of a recipe, please just ask…

     
  3. Celiac Kiddo

    October 15, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    I’m definitely going to try this! And I love pamela’s too.
    -Dana

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      October 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Thanks for commenting! Pamela’s helps me convert so many of our favorite “wheat-filled” recipes to gluten free and there is never a funny after-taste like some flours have.

       

Leave a Reply

 
