RSS

Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix…

06 Nov

I thought before I head off into gluten-free recipe heaven, maybe I should give a more thorough description of the main ingredient I use in my baking.  I realize you can go to their website and look up the ingredients for yourself, but I thought I’d save you that extra step…plus include a few extra tidbits of information!

One of the reasons I love this baking mix so much is because it is so simple and easy to use, plus it tastes great! The flours they use don’t have funny aftertastes and the mix already has baking powder, baking soda and salt in it. It saves me time while I’m trying to get something in the oven quick.

Let’s look at the label now… the ingredients list is as follows:    (in order of appearance on their label)

brown rice flour, white rice flour, cultured buttermilk, natural almond meal (may appear as brown flecks), tapioca starch, grainless & aluminum free baking powder, baking soda, sea salt, xanthan gum

Rice flour is made from finely milled brown or white rice and it helps soften the texture of a baked good. Buttermilk is the low-fat portion of milk or cream left over after it has been churned to make butter. It is “cultured” by adding lactic acid bacteria to it. Cultured buttermilk is low in fat and calories and the acid in the buttermilk, when combined with baking soda, produces light baked goods and adds extra tenderness, moisture and flavor. Almond meal is most often made from whole almonds (with a skin), which is probably why they mention the brown flecks in the list. It adds moistness and a rich, buttery flavor. Tapioca starch is ground from the root of the cassava plant. It helps your breads have a nice crispy texture. In muffins and cookies, tapioca starch adds structure without grittiness. Baking powder, baking soda and salt are commonly used in all baking methods.

Now, xanthan gum sounds like it’s from another planet! It is actually a fermented corn sugar product. It helps all the other ingredients bind together, so the baked goods don’t end up as just crumbs! (This is the normal job of wheat gluten.) In some of my recipes, I add extra xanthum gum for better binding. But, too much can cause your baked goods to be gummy or heavy, so measure carefully.

Okay, so maybe I’ve given you more information than you really wanted. I was just trying to share why this mix is SO good. Pamela’s Products (http://www.pamelasproducts.com/) uses ingredients that taste good together and are healthy. I use this baking mix so much, that I buy it in bulk from Amazon and it gets shipped automatically. Some health food stores or regular grocery stores carry it and you can buy it right from their website, too.

Please note, if you have allergies to milk or nuts, then this mix is not for you. Sorry…

Check back soon for some great recipes for Thanksgiving, or click “FOLLOW” and receive an email notice every time I post a new recipe! Have a great day!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2011 in Ingredients/Products

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix…

  1. Gluten-free Medley

    November 6, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Welcome to my Gluten-Free Blog! I’d love to hear from you…

     
  2. Lula Harp

    November 16, 2011 at 1:18 am

    I just got my first bag and made yummy peanut butter banana muffins. Thanks for the breakdown on what all the different ingredients are and what they do.

     
  3. Gluten-free Medley

    November 16, 2011 at 9:15 am

    You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy experimenting with the mix and making delicious recipes. I’d love to try some of your recipes – I’m always looking for yummy baked goods! Have a great day! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
