RSS

Leftovers? …Turkey Pot Pie!

20 Nov

I know there will be plenty of leftover turkey by Friday of this week, so I’m going to turn it into another meal. One of my family’s favorites is home-made chicken pot pie – just meat, no vegetables. We used to buy it at Hungry Hollow Country Store in West Paris, Maine. They make the best chicken pie we’ve ever had!  When we started eating gluten-free food, I had to come up with a wheat-free recipe that comes close to the Hungry Hollow pies. Oooh, experimenting is so much fun and I love to experiment!!

So, I think I’ve gotten pretty close with this recipe and it’s so easy. This week, of course, I will substitute turkey and because I haven’t perfected a gluten-free flaky pie crust yet, I will use Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix (Gluten-free/Wheat-free) to make a variation of pot pie. The crust on this pot pie is more like a biscuit or dumpling. Yum! If you’d like to add your favorite vegetables, make sure they are cooked and drained well, so the gravy doesn’t get watered down. Also, be sure to use a bigger baking dish, or the gravy might spill over into your oven.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving day with family and friends. My husband and I are visiting our son in college in North Carolina. We are planning on cooking our turkey dinner in the dorm kitchen! It will be a fun adventure and we are all very excited! I’m bringing all my recipes with me – my son is already “drooling” at the thought of many home-cooked meals!

Turkey Pot Pie

2½ cups cooked, boneless turkey, cut into bite size pieces

1½ cups turkey or chicken broth

2 tablespoons corn starch

2 tablespoons cold water

Dough/biscuit:

1 cup Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix

¾ cup milk

2 tablespoons butter, melted

pinch of garlic powder, onion powder and whole celery seed

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a large 9 inch pie plate. Place turkey pieces in pie plate, evenly spaced. Pour broth into a small sauce pan and bring to a boil. In a small dish, combine cornstarch with cold water, stir until dissolved completely. Pour cornstarch slurry into hot broth, stir and bring back to a boil. This mixture will thicken as it cooks. Continue to stir. Once it becomes thick, pour over turkey pieces in pie plate. In a separate bowl, combine dough ingredients and mix well. Spoon soft dough on top of turkey mixture and spread evenly. Bake for 45 minutes, until golden brown. Makes 3-4 servings.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Main Meals

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Leftovers? …Turkey Pot Pie!

  1. Gluten-free Medley

    November 20, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

     
  2. nanettefayephotography

    November 21, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Yummy, that looks very good! Have a great Thanksgiving, Anne!

     

Leave a Reply

 
