RSS

Five Minute Gluten-free Chocolate Mug Cake…long name, short time to a sweet treat!

24 Feb

I know this recipe has been all over the internet for years now, using regular all-purpose flour. I’ve tried that one and it doesn’t taste good at all. The texture just isn’t right – too rubbery. Maybe I didn’t find the right recipe? Anyway, we’re gluten-free now…

So, when I substituted Pamela’s Gluten-Free Baking and Pancake Mix for the regular flour, it came out good enough to fill my husband’s craving for something chocolate and sweet. The texture is not exactly like chocolate cake, more spongy, but we make this often enough that it is something we look forward to enjoying. It has good flavor and we can whip it up anytime we want a sweet treat.

I think it’s really important to use a baking mix that has baking soda, salt and baking powder already in it, or add it on your own. I know there is a Gluten-free Bisquick mix on the market now, and it may work in this recipe, but I have not tried it, so I can’t make any promises.

The other important piece of this recipe is the microwave wattage. If you don’t know the wattage of your microwave, check the manual that came with it. Or, look for the sticker with a serial number and other small printing on it. The sticker may be located on the back of the machine or when you open the door, it might be facing you. Somewhere on that sticker it should say what the wattage output is – microwaves have varying amounts of outputs, usually from 700W to 1400W. (My microwave is 1200W output, so I have to adjust it for this recipe.)

If you want to get the correct cooking time for your microwave for this recipe, click here and it will bring you to a Microwave Conversion chart. Scroll down to the “Convert Microwave Cooking Times” box and enter 1000 in the “From Wattage” box, enter your microwave’s wattage in the “To Wattage” box and enter 3 minutes, 0 seconds. Press “GO” and the chart will give how much time to cook this recipe using your microwave on HIGH. I’m sorry if this sounds a bit confusing, but it will help the recipe come out better, I promise!

Let me know how it comes out when you try it… I’d like to hear your ideas and suggestions! Enjoy!

 

Five Minute Gluten-Free Chocolate Mug Cake

4 tablespoons Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix

1 tablespoon sugar

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 egg

3 tablespoons milk

2 tablespoons canola oil

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons chocolate chips

In an extra-large coffee mug, add the first three dry ingredients and mix well. Add the egg, milk, oil and vanilla extract and mix very well until completely combined. Add the chocolate chips on top – don’t stir in. Place mug in the microwave oven and cook for 3 minutes at 1000 watts (oven watts may vary, adjust power or time accordingly). The cake will rise near the top of the mug and fall again – this is normal! Allow to cool slightly and tip onto a plate. Cut in half lengthwise and serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream, if desired. Makes 2 servings.

Before cooking...

After cooking...

 

 

 

 

 

Related Articles:

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Desserts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Minute Gluten-free Chocolate Mug Cake…long name, short time to a sweet treat!

  1. Leslie

    February 24, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Tried this, super yummy!

     
  2. Gluten-free Medley

    February 25, 2012 at 9:30 am

    So yummy…sometimes I wish I didn’t have to share it!! Thanks for commenting, Leslie!! See you next week…

     
  3. megancarolan

    August 6, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    I’m looking to make basically this same thing, but as an ACTUAL cake–I’ve got some Pamela’s I’d like to try baking with, and need to make a 13X9 inch cake (It will get shaped into something else). Any thoughts on how to adjust portion size and time? The ingredient list is delightfully simple…

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      August 6, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Hi!

      Try using the following recipe. The extra xanthan gum plus lemon juice gives it a firmer texture, just like gluten would in regular wheat flour. Even though Pamela’s has xanthan gum in the mix, just a little extra can be a big help. (Too much extra xanthan gum can make it gummy or heavy, so measure carefully.) Let me know how you like it!!

      Chocolate Cake GF

      2+1/4 cups Pamela’s baking mix
      1+1/2 cups sugar
      3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
      1 teaspoon xanthan gum
      1+1/4 cups milk
      2 teaspoons vanilla extract
      1 tablespoon lemon juice
      3 eggs
      2 sticks butter, melted

      Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9 x 13 inch baking dish. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and blend well. Add wet ingredients and beat until thoroughly mixed. Pour batter into prepared dish. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely.

       
      • megancarolan

        August 7, 2012 at 3:22 pm

        Thank you SO much for sharing this–I feel so special, getting a personal recipe. 🙂

        Just cleaning up now while the cake bakes–I know so far that the batter was delicious, and that at about the 30 minute mark in the oven, the most amazing chocolatey smell permeated my kitchen. I’m going to sneak a taste once it’s cool, but then I’m popping it into the freezer so I can cut it up later to make a giraffe cake for a friend’s birthday (believe it or not, for an adult. Not a child!). First time I’m attempting something like this; I’ll let you know how the final product turns out!

        Thanks again. I’ll be following your blog for more tasty ideas.

         
      • Gluten-free Medley

        August 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm

        You are very welcome! I hope your giraffe works out well!! Are you going to post a picture? I bet it will be adorable… 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
