RSS

Kale Chips…Does this really look like Kale?

14 Mar

Okay, I’ll admit it – I find it difficult to take good photographs of food. I like cookbooks with really good pictures and I’m sure they use some strange techniques to get those yummy, ooey-gooey shots. My problem is the time of day and the lighting. Also, I’m usually taking the photo and then eating what was on the plate. I want to eat my dinner when it’s hot, not after it’s cooled down from taking a bunch of shots from every angle.

Photographing meals during the winter is especially hard. By the time we eat dinner, it’s dark out. I would have to have a light tent in my kitchen at all times, just so I could pop the plate into it and get a nice well-lit photo of our delicious meal. Sometimes I bake at a certain time of day just to get the right lighting. Summer is just around the corner and the end-of-day lighting will be much better!

I think my pictures have been okay so far, but I’m always trying to improve them. It’s very helpful to use a digital camera so I can see the results immediately. If anyone has any good ideas about food photography, please write a comment and let me know!

Now, for today’s recipe… Kale Chips! These are simple to make, delicious and quite addictive. Even my husband liked them, and he is not a fan of kale no matter how it’s cooked. They are an easy way to add extra green vegetables to your eating plan. I didn’t list the actual amount of salt to use – you will need to adjust that to your personal preference. (Mostly because I used my salt grinder, so can’t tell you how much I added!)

Enjoy!!

 

Kale Chips 

1 bunch of fresh kale, rinsed

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Make sure the kale is very dry before using. Remove the ribs from the kale and tear into medium-sized pieces. In a large bowl, toss the kale with the olive oil and a generous pinch of salt. Spread on a large cookie sheet and bake until crisp but still green, about 5 to 10 minutes. Check often so they don’t burn! Cool on a rack. Use as a garnish for soup or for a snack.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Appetizers/Snacks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Kale Chips…Does this really look like Kale?

Leave a Reply

 
