RSS

Mexican Chicken Casserole…How do you say that in Spanish?

28 Mar

I’m not really sure what to call this recipe – quesadilla, enchilada, tostada – or a combination of all three. However it’s called, it doesn’t matter because it tastes good and is easy to make!

The quesadillas we’ve had in restaurants are usually two tortillas laid out flat with meat and cheese in the middle and grilled to get them crispy. Enchiladas are tortillas rolled around meat, cheese or beans, covered with a sauce and cheese and baked. Tostadas are more like a pizza – a tortilla crust with toppings.

At first, I was trying to make an enchilada recipe I’d received from a friend, but the tortillas were too small and they cracked when I rolled the them. As always, if something doesn’t quite work out – I improvise! I layered the tortillas flat on top of some sauce, spread my meat and cheese, added another layer of tortillas, more sauce and cheese, then baked it. So simple.

I used chicken breast pieces in this recipe, but you could substitute ground meat, shrimp, turkey or just your favorite vegetables and beans. My suggestion, if you use just vegetables, is to saute’ them in olive oil with some spices first. This will add a nice flavor to the dish. Or you could also roast them in the oven the day before. Just thinking about the variations makes me want to try this recipe again soon! Roasted summer squash, sweet potatoes, black beans…mmmmm. Let me know what combinations you’ve tried!

Buen provecho! (Enjoy your meal!)

 

Mexican Chicken Casserole

1½ lbs. cooked chicken, cut into bite size pieces

1 pkg. gluten-free corn tortillas (~ 10 small tortillas per pkg.)

2 cups gluten-free green taco sauce

1 cup shredded Monterey jack cheese

sour cream

fresh salsa

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9 x 13 inch baking dish. Spread one cup of taco sauce on bottom of dish. Layer 5 tortillas on top of taco sauce, spaced evenly in dish. Layer chicken pieces evenly on top of tortillas. Cover with ½ cup taco sauce. Add the remaining 5 tortillas on top. Spread the last ½ cup of taco sauce. Cover with the cheese. Bake for about 30 minutes, until heated through and bubbly. Garnish with sour cream and salsa. Makes 4 to 6 servings.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Main Meals

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mexican Chicken Casserole…How do you say that in Spanish?

  1. Well Beauty Blog

    March 28, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    I love mexican casseroles! I have one on my blog that is pretty similar to this, but I use leftover turkey after thanksgiving. It’s one of my favorite post-thanksgiving meals!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      March 28, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      Hi! I looked at your recipe and it looks really yummy! Another great way to use leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I’d have to leave out the black olives though – one thing my husband doesn’t like… Thanks for stopping by!!

       
  2. nijah06

    March 29, 2012 at 2:21 am

    I like your mexican casserole It looks really delicious.Please save me the left overs.

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      March 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Oops, sorry – the leftovers vanished yesterday! Usually I don’t like soggy tortillas, but with this recipe they soak up the taco sauce and taste better. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

       

Leave a Reply

 
