RSS

Tinkyada Pasta… a staple in our gluten-free kitchen!!

22 Apr

My husband is a pasta-lover! Sometimes I tell him he has spaghetti sauce running through his veins instead of blood. He could eat pasta with red sauce three meals a day for an entire week and not get bored with it. Now, I like a good Italian meal, but not to that extreme. Also, I want to clarify that we don’t really eat pasta all day, every day – because I do most of the cooking and I like variety!

When we had to switch our cooking style to gluten-free, we tried so many brands of rice pasta and corn pasta that we did eat it often. It was like being Goldilocks with the three bears – this one is too soft, this one is too hard. Then we found the Tinkyada brand. I’m not saying this will ever replace a fresh semolina wheat pasta dish from a really good Italian restaurant – but seeing as that would send my husband into days of illness, the Tinkyada brand has really been a great substitute.

I can purchase this brand in my local grocery store in their organic foods section. It comes in several different shapes and pasta-types – spaghetti, linguine, ziti, elbows, spirals, and probably more. Ask your grocer to stock it if you don’t see it – maybe they will.

I have also tried using it to make a cold pasta salad, which did not work as well as I’d hoped. It turned out too tough and chewy as a cold dish. So, my suggestion is keep it hot and covered with a yummy sauce of your choice. As with anything I suggest, your personal taste preferences are what matters the most. If you like it – great! If not, move onto the next product and keep trying to find the one you like best…

Enjoy!!

P.S. Some fun news from Gluten-Free Medley… I have just started a Masters of Science program in Holistic Nutrition! It’s an online course and it will take me about 2-3 years to complete. I’m very excited about this program and I hope to incorporate some of the information I will be learning into this blog, so stay tuned…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2012 in Ingredients/Products

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Tinkyada Pasta… a staple in our gluten-free kitchen!!

  1. countrybydesign

    April 22, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Thanks so much for your information. I haven’t been happy with any of the gluten free pasta products that I have tried, so I’m looking forward to finding some Tinkyada. We are rather out in the boonies, so I may have to wait until I go to the big city in a couple of weeks.

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      April 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

      I checked Amazon.com and you can buy it through there one package or several packages at a time. Maybe that will be more convenient for you? I hope you enjoy it! Let me know…

       
  2. countrybydesign

    April 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Reblogged this on Country By Design's Blog and commented:
    I’m going to try to find some Tinkyada pasta products. I have not been happy with any of the gluten free pasta that I have tried.

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      April 23, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Thank you for re-blogging my post. Let me know how you like it, once you try it. It’s always nice to hear if someone else likes a product too!

       
  3. kendrarmcphee

    April 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Yum! I haven’t seen/tried that brand before. I’ll be keeping an eye out for it next time I’m grocery shopping!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      April 23, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      Thanks for stopping by… I hope you can find it. Please let me know what you think about it.

       
      • lifemindvitamin

        April 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm

        I sure will! What stores do you usually find this in? I was thinking of looking at Whole Foods, but don’t remember seeing it there before. I’m in the Bay Area (California).

         
  4. nanettefayephotography

    April 25, 2012 at 10:04 am

    So excited to hear you have started your new adventure! You are and will continue to be such a great resource on nutrition especially in regards to gluten-free eating! Congrats!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      April 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Thank you, Nanette! I’m really looking forward to learning so much great new information!

       

Leave a Reply

 
