RSS

Vegetarian Lentil Chili… nourishing and very filling!

30 Apr

If any of you read my last post, I announced I had just started online classes to go for my Masters of Science degree in Holistic Nutrition. I have been wanting to write a new blog post recently, but the transition back into school is more challenging than I expected. Also, my husband has been doing a Cleansing diet these past two weeks and my cooking has been very, very basic. He’s been eating only vegetables, fruit and lentil chili. His lentil chili recipe is very good! It’s sweet and slightly spicy and very filling.

This recipe makes enough chili to last him several days! I eat it once or twice, but I need a little more variety for dinner than chili every night…

The chili is cooked in a crock-pot/slow cooker for most of the day. It makes the house smell like a Mexican restaurant – yum! If you prepare it the night before and cook it during the day, then when you come home after a busy day at work, dinner is ready to eat. Add a little shredded cheese, a few tortilla chips, a nice salad and voila’  – an easy meal.

Lentils are legumes and are very nutritious. They are a good source of protein, dietary fiber, iron and other important minerals like phosphorus and manganese. They are also low in saturated fat and cholesterol. Lentils make a healthy addition to any eating plan!

Enjoy!!

Sweet and Spicy Vegetarian Lentil Chili 

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large sweet onion, chopped

1 small red pepper, seeded and chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons chili powder

1½ cups dried lentils, rinsed

1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes

½ teaspoon allspice

½ teaspoon cayenne pepper

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups water

1 cup apple juice

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion, peppers, and garlic and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in the chili powder and cook about 30 seconds longer. Transfer the mixture to a 4-quart slow cooker. Add the lentils, tomatoes, and seasonings. Stir in the water and apple juice, cover and cook on Low for 8 hours. Add more water if chili gets too thick. Makes 6 to 8 servings.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in Main Meals

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Vegetarian Lentil Chili… nourishing and very filling!

  1. Natalie

    May 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    I love vegetarian chilli, I may just be giving this a go. Good luck with the Masters Degree. I really applaud you for taking it on. I am doing the equivalent of a first year degree module with the Open University in Psychology and I am really struggling with it. I just can’t seem to fit it in!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      May 14, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      My husband really loves this chili recipe. I hope you do, too! Thanks for your support with my program. I can understand how you might have difficulty finding the time – you have a little one to look after! My son is turning 20 years old this summer, so my spare time is mine. Good luck with your program and keep me posted!

       

Leave a Reply

 
