RSS

Vegetable Leek Medley….fun homework assignment!

15 May

My apologies for the long delay since my last post. I had a couple family gatherings I had to attend out of town and a rather long written assignment for my nutrition course that was due around the same time. I felt a little overwhelmed and briefly wondered what I had gotten my self into by going back to school. But, I plodded along, keeping my head above water and now here I am, back at the keyboard.

I really do like my nutrition course so far – there’s some really great information and books to read! Plus, for one of my assignments, I got to cook – how cool is that?!! We have to do two practical activities for this first course and they give us eight to choose from. The one I chose was to use an ingredient or recipe that I was unfamiliar with. Even though I’ve made Leek soup before, I wanted to try using leeks another way.

This is a really simple recipe and I think it would be better if you added meat to it, like chicken or shrimp, and served it over rice or gluten-free pasta. Leeks are in the same family as onions and garlic, so I felt it was a little too strong alone as a side dish, but that’s my personal taste – you may enjoy it just fine as a side dish. Any of your favorite vegetables would go nicely with it, too. The leftovers can also be used in a soup or an omelet the next day – very versatile!

Leeks are a good source of vitamins A and K, manganese, vitamin C and folate. Check out the website “The World’s Healthiest Foods” for some great information and recipes. (This is a a required book for my nutrition coursework.) Enjoy!!

Vegetable Leek Medley 

1 large leek

2 medium carrots

1 yellow summer squash

1 large portobello mushroom

3 tablespoons butter

Salt/pepper to taste

Cut the green leaves and the end off of the leek. Slice down the middle and rinse well under cold water to remove dirt. Cut into ¼ inch slices and set aside. Cut the carrots into 2 inch julienne strips. Slice the outer skin portion of the summer squash away from the inner seeds and soft pulp. Cut the skin into 2 inch julienne strips. Save the seeds and pulp for another recipe. Remove excess dirt from the mushroom and slice. Melt the butter in a large saute’ pan and add the leeks and carrots. Cook for about 5 minutes, until the leeks are soft and translucent. Add the summer squash and mushrooms and cook for another 3-4 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. Makes 3-4 servings.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Side Dishes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Vegetable Leek Medley….fun homework assignment!

  1. sybaritica

    June 1, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    That’s a combo that would be lovely roasted too!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      June 1, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      Great idea! I love to roast all kinds of veggies and it gives them a better flavor in my opinion, too! Thanks for stopping by!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
