RSS

Lemon Poppy Scones… a nice mid-morning snack with tea!!

22 May

Today was my day off and one of my good friends came over for a visit. We try to see each other every month or two, but this time it was longer. Even though we only live 25 minutes away from each other, our schedules get busy and our visits get further apart. We have similar interests and enjoy our leisurely conversations over tea and sweets. Sometimes we have lunch together, too. This morning I decided to whip up a batch of Lemon Poppy Scones for our morning together. She doesn’t have any particular dietary restrictions, but I always cook with my Pamela’s Gluten-Free Baking and Pancake mix so my husband can eat any leftovers.

These aren’t exactly like real scones, because they’re lighter in texture and more moist. Maybe half scone and half muffin? Also, they are not very sweet which makes them a great low-sugar treat. I know they would be super yummy with a little apricot jam or orange marmalade spread on top!

Another fun thing I did when I cooked these is I used a special baking sheet that my neighbor gave me. It’s called a “muffin top pan” and you can find them at Amazon – here. For those of you who really like the tops or caps of muffins, this baking sheet is for you. The indents keep the batter from spreading out too flat. I love to cook my muffins this way, so I tried it for my scones too – they came out perfect!

Add a mug of herbal tea, a good friend and enjoy!!

Lemon Poppy Scones

3½ cups Pamela’s Gluten-Free Baking & Pancake Mix
2 teaspoons baking powder
12 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup milk
1 egg
1/3 cup agave syrup
1 tablespoon lemon or orange zest
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
Brown sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two baking sheets with butter. In a large bowl, combine Pamela’s mix with baking powder. Add melted butter, milk and egg. Stir until well combined. Add zest, lemon juice and poppy seeds and mix very well. The dough will be sticky. Drop by large spoonfuls onto each pan, making 12 piles of dough. Sprinkle ¼ teaspoon brown sugar on top of each pile of dough. Bake for 20 minutes until lightly browned. Remove and cool on a cooling rack. Makes 12 scones.

 

Related articles

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Lemon Poppy Scones… a nice mid-morning snack with tea!!

  1. nanettefayephotography

    May 22, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    These sounds delicious! I love lemon poppy seed anything and I especially love muffin tops! I am going to try these soon!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      May 23, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Nanette! You must be busy right before graduation?? :-)) Have fun!

       
  2. Manasa Majumdar

    July 31, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful site!

     
    • Gluten-free Medley

      July 31, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Thanks for stopping in to look at my blog! I don’t have an iphone, but I’m glad it connected you quickly!

       

Leave a Reply

 
